A New Tradition for Independence Day


Well, perhaps this is not new to some who may have heard of it already.  But for those who haven’t, I think this is a wonderful suggestion.  If you can fit it in this year, great!  If not, make it a tradition for years to come.

I first heard about this from Dennis Prager, a talk radio host based in Los Angeles, but nationally syndicated.  This link will give you a thorough explanation of the ceremony, but let me just put in my 2 cents.

What touched me most about this was it’s relation to the Passover Seder and how that Seder has been done every year by almost every Jew in the world for the last 3,000 years.  Talk about a connection to history!

I’m sure you will agree, dear reader, that this country has gotten further and further away from its Founding and its Founding Principles.  I think this is a great way to reconnect to both in a very simple way.

The idea also reminded me that it wasn’t that often that I could even get through the first sentence of the Declaration of Independence without choking up.  It also reminds me, every time I read it, what a unique and exceptional place America is and what a radical idea America was founded on.

And I think the last act – the personal signing of the Declaration of Independence – really brings it home for those participating:  remembering that our Founders pledged their lives, their fortunes and their sacred honor.

Even after 238 years, how could any of us do less.

Happy Independence Day!  Happy Birthday, America!

Posted in Domestic Policy, History and holidays
One comment on “A New Tradition for Independence Day
  1. skatblueeyes says:

    I hadn’t heard of it. What a clever idea! Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

