Re: Illegal Compassion


I think both Skat and Krystyna have made good points in this debate. As Christians, we are to “hate the sin but love the sinner,” and there’s nothing wrong with showing a little compassion to those who are in a bad situation, even if they made the situation themselves (no one that I know of put a gun to their heads and forced them to march across the border).

With that said, however, there is another Christian principle that seems to be involved here:

“Be careful not to practice your righteousness in front of others to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.

“So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

Matthew 6:1-4, NIV

The principle Our Lord is teaching here seems to be clear. If you do things only to receive the praise of others, that’s all the reward you’ll get. If you do your good deeds quietly, so few know, you’ll be rewarded by God.

Now, I wish to make it clear, I’m not saying for certain that’s what Glenn Beck is doing by trumpeting his giving. He may have been using it to encourage others to give. There’s a very fine line there, and I’m not sure whether he’s crossed it or not. But God knows.

For my part, when I try to encourage people to volunteer for things — which is part of my “job” at my church, since I lead a team of volunteers — I don’t bring up “look at all the good I’m doing here,” I concentrate on the good they can do, the great people they’ll work alongside, and so on.

Again, I’m not saying Beck is giving just for the public approval. But I can think of better ways to encourage people to give if that’s his aim. And if someone was to ask him, “you’re asking us to give, what have you given?” the answer is simple: “I’ve given plenty, but it’s not about what I’m doing, it’s about what you can do.”

Conservative Wanderer is currently Editor-in-Chief of That's Freedom You Hear! That means anything that goes wrong can be blamed on him. Previously he was a contributor to the PJ Tatler.

Posted in Immigration

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

