RE: In Praise of Term Limits


The praise of my colleague, ladykrystina, honors me beyond my merit.  She’s entirely right, however, that the biggest problem with the political class is the fact they are a political class. What dooms us is not so much venal politicians, but the fact once somebody gets in the system, you can’t ever get rid of them. They flit back and forth, political office, lobby shop, crony corporation, academia, federal bureaucracy, a never ending cycle so rapid and pervasive it beggars the term “revolving door.” That has to be fixed if we are to remain free.

I’m a Levin fan, krys, and I just downloaded the book you recommended. We’ll have a smack at it once I get through it. And in point of fact, I am already planning and collecting research for an article about what we ought to do with the Civil Service. It will probably one of my traditional far-too-long screeds and have to go up in pieces. I had intended to get to it right after I finish my far-too-long piece on the 2013-14 Supreme Court term. And the analysis of Halbig v. Burwell I promised everybody yesterday. And…

Ah, so much to write, and so little time 🙂

themaskedblogger is a native born Texan, a registered voter and possessed of some minimal ability to read, write and think.

Posted in Congress, Domestic Policy

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

